Opinion polls, design studies,
market research &
product tests …
LogIn
Choose a language

Qualitative surveys

;This type of survey is more about quality than quantity. In this case, a relatively small number of volunteers are involved in the study. Here non-standardized surveys are used, i.e. the volunteers are asked questions that do not provide answer categories, but that can be answered freely instead. Qualitative surveys can, for instance, take place in the form of interviews, group discussions, or through behavior observation. These types of surveys are useful and have meaning if opinion research is required for products, or if little or zero prior knowledge exists about one topic.

Quantitative surveys

;Quantitative surveys should include as many volunteers as possible. This is where a standardized questionnaire is used, i.e. the volunteers are given fixed response categories, which they must select, to ensure that all of the participants can be compared. These surveys may be completed in the form of paper or online questionnaires. Any data which is collected is subsequently made anonymous, evaluated, and is presented visually in the form of tables, graphs and charts.

Examples of qualitative surveys

  • Group discussions

    ;Group discussions or focus groups are a qualitative type of survey, in which several volunteers discuss a wide range of topics together as a group. The moderator of the group normally starts the ball rolling by asking questions according to a set of guidelines, or by asking volunteers targeted questions about their statements. Participant rewards or incentives for this method range from approx. €50 for between 90 and 120 minutes.

  • Usability tests

    ;If volunteers are testing visual or functional redesigns of software, hardware, or products, then this is known as a usability test. The volunteers are given instructions on various scenarios from the test supervisor so that they can examine one product in terms of its suitability. Participant premiums or incentives for this method range from approx. €50 for a survey of between 60 and 90 minutes.

  • One-to-one interviews

    ;In a qualitative one-to-one interview, a single volunteer will be questioned by a single interviewer about various subjects. These interviews may take place in person or over the telephone. In market research, the volunteers are asked questions based on guidelines, which, unlike in a quantitative survey, can be answered without deciding on a previously defined category. Participant premiums or incentives for this method range from approx. €35 for between 30 and 60 minutes.

  • In-home tests

    ;In addition to carrying out usability tests at the premises of a market research institute, there is the potential for these to take place at the volunteers’ homes. This method is known as an ethnographic interview. Among other things, this involves both observing and analyzing the lifestyle habits of specific target groups. Participant premiums or incentives for this method range from approx. €100 for between 90 and 120 minutes.

Never miss another study. Install an app and off you go.

Everything at a glance - on the move, at home, everywhere

With the new WMM app, current studies will always be available to at a glance, and you need never miss another opportunity, no matter where you are. In addition, the app provides you with contact details and has a number of other useful functions. Install an app and off you go ...

Meinungsbefragungen, Designstudien,
Marktforschung &
Produkttests …
LogIn
Wählen Sie Ihre Sprache

Qualitative Umfragen

Bei dieser Art von Umfrage geht es um Qualität statt Quantität. Hierbei wird eine relativ kleine Anzahl an Probanden in die Studie einbezogen. Dabei werden nicht-standardisierte Erhebungsinstrumente eingesetzt, d.h. die Probanden bekommen Fragen gestellt, die keine Antwortkategorien vorgeben, sondern auf die frei geantwortet werden können. Qualitative Umfragen können beispielsweise in Form von Interviews, Gruppendiskussionen oder als Beobachtungen von Verhalten stattfinden. Diese Umfragearten sind dann hilfreich und sinnvoll, wenn Meinungen zu Produkten untersucht werden sollen oder bisher nur wenig bzw. gar kein Vorwissen über eine Thematik vorhanden ist.

Quantitative Umfragen

Bei quantitativen Umfragen sollen möglichst viele Probanden an einer Umfrage teilnehmen. Dabei wird ein standardisierter Fragebogen eingesetzt, d.h. den Probanden sind feste Antwortkategorien vorgegeben, denen sie sich zuordnen müssen, um so eine Vergleichbarkeit aller Teilnehmer gewährleisten zu können. Die Umfragen können in Form von Papier- oder Online-Fragebögen durchgeführt werden. Anschließend werden die erhobenen Daten anonymisiert, ausgewertet und in Tabellen, Grafiken und Diagrammen optisch präsentiert.

Beispiele für Qualitative Umfragen

  • Gruppendiskussionen

    Gruppendiskussionen bzw. Fokusgruppen sind eine qualitative Umfrageform, in der mehrere Probanden in einer Gruppe gemeinsam über unterschiedlichste Themen diskutieren. Dabei leitet ein Moderator die Gruppe, stellt meist an einem Leitfaden orientiert Fragen bzw. stellt den Probanden gezielt Nachfragen zu ihren Aussagen. Die Teilnehmerprämien bzw. Incentives bei dieser Methode liegen in etwa bei EUR 50,- für 90 – 120 Minuten.

  • Usability Tests

    Wenn Probanden die optische oder funktionale Neugestaltung von Software, Hardware oder Produkte testen, dann spricht man von Usability Tests. Probanden gehen unter Anweisungen des Testleiters unterschiedliche Szenarien durch, um so ein Produkt auf dessen Tauglichkeit zu untersuchen. Die Teilnehmerprämien bzw. Incentives bei dieser Methode liegen in etwa bei EUR 50,- für eine 60 – 90 minütige Befragung.

  • Einzelinterviews

    In einem qualitativen Einzelinterview wird ein Proband von einem Interviewer zu verschiedensten Themen befragt. Diese Interviews können entweder persönlich oder aber auch am Telefon stattfinden. In der Marktforschung werden dem Probanden dabei leitfadengestützte Fragen gestellt, die anders als bei einer quantitativen Umfrage frei beantwortet werden können, ohne sich bereits vorgegebenen Kategorien zuordnen zu müssen. Die Teilnehmerprämien bzw. Incentives bei dieser Methode liegen in etwa bei EUR 35,- für 30 - 60 Minuten.

  • In-Home Tests

    Neben der Durchführung von Usability Tests in den Räumen eines Marktforschungsinstituts gibt es die Möglichkeit diese zu Hause beim Probanden stattfinden zu lassen. Diese Methode wird ethnographisches Interview genannt. Dabei geht es unter anderem darum, die Lebensgewohnheiten bestimmter Zielgruppen zu beobachten und zu analysieren. Die Teilnehmerprämien, bzw. Incentives bei dieser Methode liegen in etwa bei EUR 100,- für 90 – 120 Minuten.

Keine Studie mehr verpassen. App laden und app geht’s

Unterwegs, Zuhause und Überall alles im Blick

Mit der neuen WMM Team App habt Ihr immer und überall die aktuellen Studien im Blick und verpasst keine Chance mehr. Des Weiteren bietet Euch die App alle Kontaktdaten und viele weitere sinnvolle Funktionen. App laden und app geht’s ...